If you’re looking for an efficient solution for respiratory illnesses, the medical nebuliser may be what you need. This still relatively unknown aerosol therapy device is used, notably, for the treatment of asthma. It helps breathing. From its composition to how it works and how to use it, let us tell you everything about the nebuliser.

What is a medical nebuliser?

The nebuliser (also called a mister) finds its origin in the Latin word ‘’nebula’’, meaning ‘’cloud’’. It’s a medical device which works by nebulisation. Nebulisation involves transforming a mixture, in this case a medicinal one, into an aerosol.

Omron nebulizer

Omron nebuliser

SEE THE BEST NEBULISERS ON AMAZON

The medicinal mixture could correspond to an antibiotic (treatment of infections), a painkiller (for treating pain), a corticoid, a bronchodilator (treatment of respiratory obstructions), a mucolytic (treatment of abnormal secretions), a viscolytic or various other products such as sodium cromoglicate, for example.

As a reminder, an aerosol is a stable suspension of minuscule particles in a gaseous mixture.

The nebuliser is used through the nose or mouth and sends the particles of the medicine in question directly into the bronchi, the lungs or the Eustachian tubes.

What is the purpose of a nebuliser?

In the medical field, the nebuliser is mainly used to treat respiratory, lung and ENT issues. It is often prescribed in the event of conditions linked, directly or indirectly, to the nose, the throat, the ears, the bronchi or the lungs.

The nebuliser can be used on babies, children and adults.

What is the nebuliser made up of?

A medical nebuliser is made up of different parts:

  • The compressor
  • The pumping tube
  • The spray chamber
  • The mouthpiece
  • The mask
nebuliser with compressor

Nebuliser with compressor

The compressor works to push the air into the spray chamber, in which the medicine is converted into an aerosol. The aerosol is then inhaled using the mask or mouthpiece.

What sicknesses can be treated with a nebuliser?

The nebuliser can treat various health problems. It is mainly used for respiratory, lung and ENT issues.

asthma

Use of a nebuliser on a person suffering from asthma

However, not all nebulisers are capable of treating the same ailments. The conditions most frequently treated with a nebuliser are bronchitis, bronchiolitis, asthma, laryngitis, sinusitis, rhinosinusitis, allergic rhinosinusitis and emphysema.

What are the different types of nebulisers?

Not all nebulisers work the same and are therefore not prescribed for the same conditions. There are currently three main types of nebulisers:

The pneumatic nebuliser, resulting from the oldest nebulisation technique, works mainly thanks to a gas source. The gas source must therefore be connected to the nebuliser. For home use, the latter is transmitted by the compressor. In healthcare facilities, it can be oxygen or air intake. The pneumatic nebuliser is the most commonly used model.

Ultrasonic nebuliser: a newer model, it works by means of an ultrasound source. Indeed, in the ultrasonic nebuliser, the energy source and the nebuliser are in one and the same device. Once the nebuliser is plugged in, the ultrasound, often produced via piezoelectric crystals vibrating at high frequency, transforms the liquid to be nebulized. The ultrasonic nebuliser can alter the medicinal substance. It is therefore used only when it is essential to the treatment of certain ailments.

The vibrating screen nebuliser: the latter also uses vibrations to operate. The domed and perforated sieve vibrates when in contact with the liquid, which allows it to nebulise. This type of nebuliser has been designed to be compatible with even the most fragile molecules.

It should be noted that even within these nebulisers, there exists several different options.

For example, pneumatic nebulisers can have a constant flow or variable flow, such as double venturi or economiser valves. Likewise, some nebulisers are portable nowadays. Such models are more practical as they can be transported in all circumstances.

How does the nebuliser work?

To efficiently use a nebuliser, certain rules must be followed.

Before use, it is of course important to wash your hands and to check the device’s cleanliness, as well as how appropriate the mechanism is for the condition being treated.

In any case, it is important to rigorously follow your doctor’s instructions. They will indicate to you the quantity and duration of the daily sessions, the time of treatment and the type of module to use.

First of all, the medicine should be poured into the device, in the place provided for this purpose. You must then attach the nozzle and the pumping tube, before turning on the compressor.

Once the nebuliser is correctly placed, sit or stand while holding the device horizontally (note that there are now some models of nebulisers suitable for children and babies that work even in a lying position). Then carefully place the mask on your face, at the nose and mouth. If you are using a mouthpiece, it should be positioned in the mouth, between the teeth, with tight lips. When the nebuliser is properly positioned, you can inhale deeply, breathing in and out calmly.

More info on nebulisation in this video.

What is the difference between an inhaler and a nebuliser?

An inhaler is characterised as a device for medical use that allows the absorption of medicinal substances through the respiratory tract. The nebuliser can therefore be called an inhaler if we take its strictest definition.

However, the nebuliser is not just any type of inhaler. It is a very specific model. Indeed, unlike other inhalation methods, the nebuliser is a device appreciated for its ease of use and accessibility. It is true that the latter does not require any coordination or respiratory gestures, and is effective even when breathing at a normal rate.

Likewise, what we commonly refer to as an inhaler is usually a small portable device made of plastic and metal. The latter works mainly by pressing a button that releases fixed doses.

The nebuliser, on the other hand, is more often a larger device, in which you pour the medicine yourself, and which uses air, oxygen or vibrations to convert it into a kind of mist to be inhaled by the nose or through the mouth, i.e. an aerosol.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of a nebuliser?

As mentioned previously, the nebuliser has the advantage of being easy to use and accessible to a wide variety of patient profiles. In fact, the latter can be used by adults as well as by children or even babies since all that is necessary is to breathe, even at low flow. Different medicines can also be mixed together with a nebuliser.

Likewise, it should be noted that the nebuliser is a particularly effective device. Indeed, it administers a drug, in high concentration, directly on the anatomical area to be treated. By precisely targeting the diseased organ, the nebuliser offers very good results. Studies in the field also show that the use of a nebuliser makes it possible to observe greater clinical effects than taking oral medication at a similar dose.

In addition to promoting local action, the nebuliser reduces the risk of possible systemic side effects.

Of course, the nebuliser also has a few drawbacks, but these are mainly practical in nature. First of all, many nebulisers are quite heavy and bulky, which makes them tricky to transport. Likewise, a nebuliser must be maintained by applying very specific hygiene rules to avoid contamination. The duration of treatment with a nebuliser is also often quite long.

In what setting should I use a baby nebuliser?

The nebuliser is a medical device that can be used even in very young children. The nebuliser is often prescribed for babies with asthma or cystic fibrosis.

child nebulizer

Child nebuliser

It can also be used in babies in much lighter cases such as colds, bronchitis or bronchiolitis. The nebuliser is particularly convenient to use for small children since it does not require any specific action on their part.

How is the nebuliser cleaned?

It is very important to clean the nebuliser after each use. An unclean nebuliser can become a hub for microbes.

Cleaning your nebuliser isn’t complicated. If there is any medicine left on the inside, it must be disposed of, as it cannot be reused. Then dismantle the pieces and clean each one of them carefully with hot water and washing up liquid.

At least once a day, it is also recommended to disinfect the nebuliser. To do this, take all the pieces apart and place them in boiling water for around 15 minutes. If you are short on time, it is also possible to occasionally use alcohol or any other disinfectant while washing them with water.

The nebuliser kit should be replaced at regular intervals. When doing this, please follow the brand’s recommendations. These are usually written on the instructions of use. In general, this procedure should be carried out approximately every three months.

Note that there are some disposable nebulisers. These have a specific symbol on their packaging. Of course, it is therefore not necessary to clean them since they are intended to be thrown away after use.

Which nebuliser should I choose?

Comparison of the best nebulisers

Among the selection of nebulisers available on the market, it is not always easy to find the one that best suits your needs. To help you find the best product, we have selected three models of nebuliser for you.

OMRON C28P
OMRON C28P
OMRON MicroAIR U100
OMRON MicroAIR U100
OMRON DuoBaby
OMRON DuoBaby
Portable
Type Compresseur Vibrating sieve Compressor (with baby nose)
Sound level 60 dB 20 dB 63 dB
Power supply Electric 2 batteries (AA/LR6) Electric

The OMRON C28P

The OMRON C28P is a nebuliser suitable for adults and children. It treats ailments related to the lower respiratory tract. Ideal for frequent, quick use, it is perfect for people suffering from asthma, for example.

One advantage of the OMRON C28P is that it’s solid. Especially designed for regular use, it comes in the form of a robust breathing apparatus. Thanks to its high nebulisation rate, it also offers a short inhalation time. It is therefore possible to use it quickly on a daily basis. Easy to use and fully waterproof, it also has a single on/off button.

The only downside is that the OMRON C28P nebuliser remains relatively bulky and somewhat noisy (60 decibels for 1 metre). It can only be used with an electrical socket. This device is therefore recommended more for daily home use than as a portable device.

The OMRON MicroAIR U100

The OMRON MicroAIR U100 is a portable, ultra-compact pocket nebuliser. It is suitable for adults, children or babies alike. It can be used in all positions. It benefits from a particularly powerful and fast vibrating sieve technology.

The advantage of the OMRON MicroAIR U100 is undoubtedly its practicality. Small, light, silent (around 20 dB, ideal if you are looking for a noise-free nebuliser) and well-designed, it is very easy to use in all circumstances. Likewise, it can be assembled and disassembled quickly. Since it can even be used in a lying position, this portable nebuliser is ideal for very young children as well as for the elderly or sick. Thanks to its sieve technology, it releases a large amount of medicine into the lungs.

The OMRON MicroAIR U100 nebulizer has few disadvantages, apart from its build which is probably more fragile than a conventional compressor nebuliser. Thus, it will be necessary to be careful not to break it, and to take great care of it on a daily basis.

The OMRON DuoBaby

The OMRON DuoBaby is designed specifically for babies. Versatile, this device is at the same time a nebuliser and a baby nose device. It thus allows the child to blow their nose while giving them medicine. The OMRON DuoBaby therefore helps reduce blocked noses, reduces the risk of infections and cares for the upper and lower airways.

The two-in-one build of the OMRON DuoBaby is extremely practical in everyday life. It gives the possibility of treating the background as well as the bothersome symptoms at the same time. Easy to use and fully washable, this device is clearly worth considering for young parents. Very efficient, it sucks up nasal secretions in a single gesture, and directly treats affected areas.

The only small flaw you might find in the OMRON DuoBaby nebuliser is its size. Indeed, this device necessarily takes up a little more space than a conventional baby nose in a toiletry bag. It is therefore necessary to find an appointed place for it, and to make arrangements to transport it.

Si vous êtes à la recherche d’une solution efficace pour soigner les maladies respiratoires, le nébuliseur médical est peut-être ce qu’il vous faut. Cet appareil encore assez méconnu est utilisé, notamment, pour le traitement de l’asthme. Il aide à mieux respirer. Composition, fonctionnement, utilisation, on vous dit tout sur le nébuliseur.

Un nébuliseur, c’est quoi ?

Le nébuliseur, du latin « nebula » (nuage), est un appareil médical dont le fonctionnement repose sur la nébulisation. La nébulisation consiste à transformer une préparation, ici médicamenteuse, en aérosol.

nébuliseur Omron

Nébuliseur Omron

Voir les nébuliseurs en vente sur Amazon

La préparation médicamenteuse pourra correspondre à un antibiotique (traitement des infections), un analgésique (traitement de la douleur), un corticoïde, un bronchodilatateur (traitement des obstructions respiratoires), un mucolytique (traitement de sécrétions anormales), un viscolytique ou à divers autres produits tels que le cromoglycate de sodium par exemple.

L’aérosol est une suspension stable de minuscules particules dans un mélange gazeux.

Le nébuliseur s’utilise par le nez ou la bouche et envoie directement les particules du médicament en question dans les bronches, les poumons ou encore les trompes d’Eustache.

À quoi sert un nébuliseur ?

Dans le domaine médical, le nébuliseur est principalement utilisé pour traiter les problèmes respiratoires, pulmonaires et ORL. Il est donc souvent prescrit en cas d’affection liée, directement ou indirectement, à ces différents organes que sont le nez, la gorge, les oreilles, les bronches ou les poumons. 

L’utilisation du nébuliseur peut se faire aussi bien chez le bébé, l’enfant que l’adulte, en fonction des cas.

Quelle est la composition du nébuliseur ?

Un nébuliseur médical se compose de différentes parties :

  • le compresseur
  • le tube de pompage
  • la chambre de nébulisation
  • l’embout buccal
  • le masque
nébuliseur adulte

Nébuliseur à compresseur

Le compresseur a pour fonction de pousser l’air dans la chambre de nébulisation. Cette dernière procède à la conversion du médicament en aérosol. L’aérosol sera ensuite inhalé grâce au masque ou à l’embout buccal.

Quelles maladies peuvent être traitées avec un nébuliseur ?

Le nébuliseur est en mesure de traiter différents problèmes de santé. Il est principalement utilisé face aux troubles respiratoires, aux troubles pulmonaires et aux troubles ORL.

nébuliseur asthme pour mieux respirer

Utilisation d’un nébuliseur par une personne souffrant d’asthme

Cependant, tous les nébuliseurs ne sont pas en mesure de traiter les mêmes maux. Les maladies les plus fréquemment soignées à l’aide d’un nébuliseur sont la bronchite, la bronchiolite, l’asthme, la laryngite, la sinusite, la rhinosinusite chronique, la rhinite, la rhinite allergique ou encore l’emphysème.

Quels sont les différents types de nébuliseurs ?

Tous les nébuliseurs ne fonctionnent pas de la même façon et ne sont donc pas prescrits pour les mêmes troubles. Il existe à ce jour trois grands types de nébuliseurs :

  • Le nébuliseur pneumatique : issu de la plus ancienne technique de nébulisation, il fonctionne principalement grâce à une source de gaz. La source de gaz doit donc être reliée au nébuliseur. Dans le cadre d’une utilisation à domicile, cette dernière est transmise par le compresseur. Dans les structures de soin, il peut s’agir d’oxygène ou de prise d’air. Le nébuliseur pneumatique est le modèle le plus généralement utilisé.
  • Le nébuliseur ultrasonique : plus récent, il fonctionne par le biais d’une source d’ultrasons. En effet, dans le nébuliseur ultrasonique, la source d’énergie et le nébuliseur sont en un seul et unique appareil. Une fois le nébuliseur branché, les ultrasons, souvent produits via des cristaux piézo-électriques vibrant à haute fréquence, permettent de transformer me liquide à nébuliser. Le nébuliseur à ultrasons peut altérer la substance médicamenteuse. Il est donc utilisé seulement quand c’est indispensable, face à certaines affections.
  • Le nébuliseur à tamis vibrant : ce dernier utilise également les vibrations pour fonctionner. Le tamis bombé et perforé vibre au contact du liquide, ce qui permet de le nébuliser. Ce type de nébuliseur a été conçu pour être compatible même avec les molécules les plus fragiles.

Il faut noter qu’au sein même de ces différents nébuliseurs, il existe plusieurs options.

Par exemple, les nébuliseurs pneumatiques peuvent être à débit constant ou à débit variable, comme à double venturi ou à valves économiseuses. De même, certains nébuliseurs sont aujourd’hui portables. Plus pratiques, ils permettent d’être transportés en toutes circonstances.

Quel est le fonctionnement du nébuliseur ?

Pour utiliser efficacement un nébuliseur, il est nécessaire de suivre certaines règles.

Avant usage, il est bien entendu important de se laver la main et de vérifier la propreté de l’appareil, ainsi que l’adéquation de son mécanisme avec la pathologie à traiter.

Dans tous les cas, il est important de suivre rigoureusement la prescription de votre médecin. Ce dernier vous indiquera le nombre et la durée des séances journalières, le temps de traitement et le type de modèle à utiliser.

Dans un premier temps, le médicament doit être versé dans l’appareil, à l’endroit prévu à cet effet. Il faut ensuite fixer l’embout et le tube de pompage, avant d’allumer le compresseur.

Une fois le nébuliseur correctement mis en place, positionnez-vous assis ou debout en tenant l’appareil horizontalement (sachez qu’il existe aujourd’hui certains modèles de nébuliseurs adaptés aux enfants et aux bébés qui fonctionnent même en position allongée). Placez ensuite avec soin le masque sur votre visage, au niveau du nez et de la bouche. Si vous utilisez un embout buccal, il doit être positionné dans la bouche, entre les dents, les lèvres serrées. Lorsque le nébuliseur est bien positionné, vous pouvez inhaler, en inspirant et en expirant calmement, profondément.

Plus d’infos sur la nébulisation dans cette vidéo.

Quelle est la différence entre un inhalateur et un nébuliseur ?

Un inhalateur se caractérise comme un appareil à usage médical permettant l’absorption de substances médicamenteuses par les voies respiratoires. Le nébuliseur peut donc être qualifié d’inhalateur si l’on s’en tient à sa définition la plus stricte.

Cependant, le nébuliseur n’est pas n’importe quel type d’inhalateur. C’est un modèle bien spécifique. En effet, à la différence des autres méthodes d’inhalation, le nébuliseur est un appareil apprécié pour sa grande simplicité d’utilisation et son accessibilité. Il est vrai que ce dernier ne nécessite aucune coordination, ni gestuelle respiratoire, et se montre efficace même en respirant à un débit normal.

De même, ce que nous appelons couramment inhalateur est généralement un appareil portatif de petite taille en plastique et en métal. Ce dernier fonctionne principalement en pressant un bouton qui permet de libérer des doses fixes.

inhalateur aérosol

Utilisation d’un inhalateur

Le nébuliseur, quant à lui, est plus souvent un appareil plus imposant, dans lequel on verse soi-même son médicament, et qui utilise l’air, l’oxygène ou les vibrations pour convertir ce dernier en une sorte de brouillard à inhaler par le nez ou par la bouche.

Quels sont les avantages et inconvénients du nébuliseur ?

Comme évoqué précédemment, le nébuliseur a l’avantage d’être simple d’utilisation et accessible à des profils très divers de patients. En effet, ce dernier peut aussi bien être utilisé par des adultes que par des enfants ou même des bébés puisqu’il suffit simplement de respirer, et ce même à faible débit. Les mélanges de médicaments sont également possibles avec un nébuliseur.

De même, il faut noter que le nébuliseur est un appareil particulièrement efficace. En effet, il administre un médicament, en haute concentration, directement sur la zone anatomique à traiter. En ciblant précisément l’organe malade, le nébuliseur offre de très bons résultats. Les études dans le domaine démontrent d’ailleurs que l’utilisation d’un nébuliseur permet d’observer des effets cliniques plus importants que la prise de médicament par voie orale à dose similaire.

En plus de favoriser l’action locale, le nébuliseur réduit les risques d’éventuels effets secondaires systémiques.

Bien entendu, le nébuliseur comprend également quelques inconvénients, mais ces derniers sont principalement d’ordre pratique. Tout d’abord, nombreux des nébuliseurs sont assez lourds et encombrants, ce qui rend leur transport délicat. De même, un nébuliseur doit nécessairement être entretenu en appliquant des règles d’hygiène bien spécifiques pour éviter les contaminations. La durée d’un traitement par nébuliseur est également souvent assez longue.

Dans quel cadre utiliser un nébuliseur bébé ?

Le nébuliseur est un appareil médical qui s’utilise même chez de très jeunes enfants. Le nébuliseur est souvent prescrit aux bébés dans le cas d’asthme ou de mucoviscidose.

appareil de nébulisation enfant

Nébuliseur pour enfant

Il peut également être utilisé chez le bébé dans des cas beaucoup plus banals tels que le rhume, la bronchite ou encore la bronchiolite. Le nébuliseur est particulièrement pratique d’utilisation pour les petits puisqu’il ne nécessite aucune action spécifique de leur part.

Comment nettoyer le nébuliseur ?

Il est très important de nettoyer le nébuliseur après chaque utilisation. En effet, un nébuliseur sale peut devenir un véritable nid à microbes et à bactéries.

Pour nettoyer votre nébuliseur, ce n’est pas très compliqué. S’il reste du médicament à l’intérieur, il est impératif de le jeter. Ce dernier ne pourra pas être réutilisé. Ensuite, démontez l’ensemble des pièces et lavez soigneusement chacune d’entre elles avec de l’eau chaude et du liquide vaisselle.

Au moins une fois par jour, il est également recommandé de désinfecter le nébuliseur. Pour cela, démontez l’ensemble des pièces et placez-les pendant environ 15 minutes dans de l’eau en ébullition. Si vous manquez de temps, il est aussi possible d’utiliser ponctuellement de l’alcool ou tout autre désinfectant au cours du lavage à l’eau.

À intervalle régulier, le kit de nébulisation doit être remplacer. Pour cela, n’hésitez pas à suivre les recommandations de la marque. Ces dernières sont généralement écrites sur la notice d’utilisation. En général, cette démarche est recommandée tous les trois mois environ.

Il faut noter qu’il existe certains nébuliseurs à usage unique. Ces derniers comportent un symbole spécifique sur leur emballage. Bien entendu, il n’est donc pas nécessaire de les nettoyer puisqu’ils sont destinés à finir à la poubelle après usage.

Quel nébuliseur choisir ?

Comparatif des meilleurs nébuliseurs

Parmi l’ensemble des nébuliseurs sur le marché, il n’est pas toujours facile de trouver celui qui sera le plus adapté à vos besoins. Nous avons sélectionné pour vous trois modèles de nébuliseur.

OMRON C28P
OMRON MicroAIR U100
OMRON DuoBaby
Portable
Type Compresseur Tamis vibrant Compresseur (avec mouche-bébé)
Niveau sonore 60 dB 20 dB 63 dB
Alimentation électrique Secteur 2 piles (AA/LR6) Secteur
Prix EUR 68,98 EUR 108,08 EUR 78,84

Le OMRON C28P

Le OMRON C28P est un nébuliseur adapté aux adultes comme aux enfants. Il traite les affections liées aux voies respiratoires inférieures. Idéal dans le cadre d’un usage fréquent et rapide, il convient parfaitement, par exemple, aux personnes souffrant d’asthme.

Le nébuliseur OMRON C28P a l’avantage d’être solide. Conçu spécifiquement pour une utilisation régulière, il se présente sous la forme d’un appareil robuste. Grâce à son taux élevé de nébulisation, il offre également un temps court d’inhalation. Il est donc possible de l’utiliser rapidement au quotidien. Simple d’utilisation et entièrement étanche, il est affublé d’un unique bouton de mise en marche/arrêt.

Seul bémol, le OMRON C28P reste relativement encombrant et quelque peu bruyant (60 décibels à 1 mètre). Il ne s’utilise qu’avec une prise électrique. Cet appareil est donc davantage recommandé pour une utilisation quotidienne à domicile qu’en guise d’accessoire portatif.

Le OMRON U100

Le OMRON U100 est un nébuliseur portatif de poche ultra compact. Il s’adresse aussi bien aux adultes, qu’aux enfants ou aux bébés. Il est possible de l’utiliser dans toutes les positions. Il bénéficie d’une technologie à tamis vibrant particulièrement performante et rapide.

Indéniablement, l’avantage du OMRON U100 est son aspect pratique. Petit, léger, silencieux (environ 20 dB, idéal si vous recherchez un nébuliseur sans bruit) et design, il s’utilise très facilement en toutes circonstances. De même, il se monte et se démonte rapidement. Pouvant même être utilisé en position allongée, cet appareil de nébulisation portatif est idéal pour les très jeunes enfants comme pour les personnes âgées ou malades. Grâce à sa technologie tamis, il libère une grande quantité de médicaments dans les poumons.

Le OMRON U100 ne comporte que peu de désavantages, si ce n’est son aspect probablement plus fragile qu’un nébuliseur compresseur classique. Ainsi, il faudra faire attention de ne pas le casser, et en prendre le plus grand soin au quotidien.

Le OMRON DuoBaby

Le OMRON DuoBaby est conçu spécifiquement pour les bébés. Double-fonction, cet appareil est en même temps un nébuliseur et un mouche-bébé. Il permet ainsi de moucher son enfant, tout en lui donnant un médicament. Le OMRON DuoBaby réduit donc les obstructions du nez, réduit le risque infectieux et soigne les voies aériennes supérieures et inférieures.

L’aspect deux en un du OMRON DuoBaby est extrêmement pratique au quotidien. Il donne la possibilité de traiter en même temps le fond comme les symptômes gênants. Simple d’utilisation et entièrement lavable, cet appareil est indéniablement indispensable aux jeunes parents. Très performant, il aspire les sécrétions nasales en un seul geste, et traite directement les zones malades.

Le seul petit défaut que l’on pourrait trouver au OMRON DuoBaby est sa taille. En effet, cet appareil prend nécessairement un peu plus de place qu’un mouche bébé classique dans une trousse de toilette. Il faut donc lui trouver une place attitrée, et prendre ses dispositions pour le transporter.